Fantastic Scholastic 10: The Winner’s Circle!

Ryan Smith with the winners of the 10th Annual Shure Fantastic Scholastic Recording Competition

The winners of the 10th Annual Shure Fantastic Scholastic Recording Competition from Middle Tennessee State University showcase the grand prize package. From left to right: Audio Production Coordinator Professor Bill Crabtree; audio team members Jimmy Mansfield and  Charlie Garcia; Ryan Smith, Regional Manager, Shure Artist Relations Nashville; audio team members Frank Gerdts, Sam Hillman, and audio team faculty advisor Dr. Doug Bielmeier.

After  six months of hard work, we have finally reached the finish line!  The tenth year of the Fantastic Scholastic Recording Competition gleaned ten outstanding tracks and challenged our expert panel of judges.  The dedication definitely shone through each and every recording. These teams really deserve a pat on the back.

This year’s winners are:

GRAND PRIZE: Middle Tennessee State University
Student Team Members: Frank Gerdts, Charlie Garcia, Jimmy Mansfield, and Sam Hillman
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Doug Bielmeier
Song Title: “In My Head”
Composers: Angel Snow & Darrell Scott
View the Project Log (PDF)

RUNNER UP: University of Lethbridge
Student Team Members: Nicholas Goodman, Jacob Hills, Sam Walker-Kierluk, Shae Brossard, and Jamison Humeny
Faculty Adviser: Thilo Schaller
Song Title: “Don’t Let Me Go”
Composer: Nicholas Zambon
View the Project Log (PDF)

HONORABLE MENTION: University of Central Missouri
Student Team Members: Alex Garnett, Anthony Vitale, Cameron Porter, Corey Dyer, and Grant Conrad
Faculty Adviser: Dr. Eric Honour
Song Title: “Canary in the Mine”
Composer: Jake Briscoe and the Moonlighters
View the Project Log (PDF)

Special kudos go out to the seven other competing schools.  The commitment was evident, and the competition was fierce:

  • Berklee School of Music
  • Daytona State College
  • Ithaca College
  • Lamont School of Music at University of Denver
  • MacEwan University (Canada)
  • The Hartt School at the University of Hartford
  • University of Colorado Denver

And of course, a huge round of thanks to our elite panel of judges:

  • Mike Clink is a record producer who has recorded such artists as Megadeth, Guns N’ Roses, Heart, Jefferson Starship, Mötley Crüe, Triumph, The Babys, Eddie Money, and many more.
  • Johnny K is a Grammy nominated producer who owns Groovemaster Records and has recorded artists such as Sevendust, Disturbed, 3 Doors Down, Plain White T’s, Megadeth, and others.
  • Jack Douglas is a record producer and engineer who has worked with artists such as The Who, John Lennon, Aerosmith, Supertramp, the New York Dolls, Cheap Trick, and many more
  • Stephen Hart is the CEO of Mixroom LLC in Sonoma county and has worked with artists such as David Bowie, En Vogue, Vasco, The White Stripes, A Mei See, and others.
  • David Cole is a producer and engineer who has worked with artists such as Bob Seger & the Silver Bullet Band, Richard Marx, Tina Turner, The Steve Miller Band, and many more.
Subscribe here
Cheryl Jennison DaProza

Cheryl Jennison DaProza

Cheryl is a Media Relations Specialist at Shure with previous experience in the customer service department. She is also a professional singer involved in several tribute, cover, and original bands in the Chicago metro area. In what little spare time she has between work and music, she can be found reading or hanging out with her parrot. Cheryl’s favorite mic is the KSM8 and her Twitter handle is @TheUnsungDiva.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Short URL