Shure Wireless Workbench 6: Setting Conflicts (Part 1)

Edited Transcript 

This post will discuss how to resolve settings conflicts. Or, applying settings to offline or virtual devices and then applying them to online devices in Wireless Workbench 6.

A nice feature of Wireless Workbench is that you can build inventories of offline or virtual devices – basically fake devices. With these fake devices, you can preconfigure things such as channel name, group and channel, or frequency, without needing to be next to the equipment or connected to it.

The benefit of this is that you can complete all your configuration before the show, allowing you to show up at the venue, plug Workbench in, and apply all the settings you worked hard to figure out directly to the equipment through the network.

Let’s say you have a ULXD quad in the X53 band. You could name your channels accordingly and coordinate frequencies for a future show. Then, all you would need to do is connect to the network of gear on the day of the show.

How to Configure

To configure the physical devices properly, simply apply the settings from offline devices to the online device.

When connecting to the network, devices will have the default configuration. You will need to copy the customized settings from the offline device onto the online device.

This can be done manually; this feature allows you to automatically resolve a settings conflict between the two devices. This can be achieved by telling Wireless Workbench that these aren’t two devices but the same device. You can do this by manually clicking and dragging any of the channels from the offline device onto the online device or vice versa. When dragging the channel, you’ll see a yellow border appear over the target channel. When you let go of the dragged channel, the settings conflict dialogue box pops up.

This dialogue tells you that you have two devices that are basically the same, but one is online and the other is offline. Since there are differences in their settings, it will prompt you to select the settings you want to keep – the online or the offline. As we don’t care about the settings of the online device, select “offline device.”At the bottom of the dialogue box, click “apply to all”. This will combine all offline and online devices, retaining all the settings that you configured on the offline devices.

GET SHURE BLOG UPDATES & MORE VIA EMAIL
Subscribe here
Sam Drazin

Sam Drazin

Sam is a Product Manager for software products at Shure. A graduate of the University of Miami (Coral Gables, FL) with a BS in Music Engineering, Sam is thrilled to be working on products he uses regularly himself. In his free time, Sam can be found playing keys in jazz combos around the city, or cooking with various international ingredients and experimental new kitchen gear at home. He started with Shure as an intern, and has been full time with the company since 2010.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Short URL